Home   Languages



 Literacy is at the heart of children’s learning.  It permeates all areas of life both in and out of school.  Literacy enables children to communicate with others effectively for a variety of purposes.  Competence in literacy is central to children’s intellectual, emotional and social development and has an essential role in all areas of the curriculum.

The four main areas of literacy are: LISTENING, TALKING, READING and WRITING.

Children will be encouraged to develop skills in these areas in a variety of ways. For example by:

  • Talking with confidence and clarity
  • Listening attentively to others
  • Reading with enthusiasm and understanding
  • Writing fluently, accurately, legibly and creatively.